Tags

, , ,

Ok, I have a book draft due at the end of the month. Yes, that’s my newest excuse for no posts in a bit. I had two thorough rants at the beginning of the month, though, so if you’re missing me (I’m missing you, too), then read those.

Iran's eight candidates, clockwise from left: Mohammad Gharazi, Mohsen Rezaei, Mohammad Bagher Qalibaf, Gholam Ali Haddad Adel, Saeed Jalili, Ali Akbar Velayati, and Hasan Rowhani. (AP Photo)

Iran’s eight candidates, clockwise from left: Mohammad Gharazi, Mohsen Rezaei, Mohammad Bagher Qalibaf, Gholam Ali Haddad Adel, Saeed Jalili, Ali Akbar Velayati, and Hasan Rowhani. (AP Photo)

But some things are important to mention. Iran’s much more Sophia’s thing, my exposure mostly being the Persian kids in LA who taught me to say “I am the white devil” and enough Farsi to get by eyebrows threaded. But world politics is world politics, and Iranian Presidential elections are coming up in a little over two weeks. The Times of Israel [with its newly updated multimedia tools which now allow for slideshows (insiders tell us it was a joyous day in the newsroom)] has a nice little breakdown of all the candidates. The big news is the two candidates kept off the ballot – former president Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani and Ahmadinejad’s protégé Esfandiar Rahim Mashaei. Ahmadinejad’s trying to get the supreme leader to reverse his decision on Mashaei, but a Council on Foreign Relations analyst says it doesn’t really matter.

So, even though you have to wait a whole week before I come back to talk to you about the tech news you should be following, or my new friends on twitter, or.. you know.. American politics, do read up on the fun we’ll be covering as election drama develops. See you on the other side!