Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I recently posted about why I don’t want to vote Avoda on Tuesday, but this info made me realize that if I do, I can still hold my head high.

The Israel Democracy Institute (Hebrew or English) just published a study about the level of democracy each party practices, as opposed to the democracy the State practices (something IDI mentions Freedom House and the Economist do). IDI measured five tenets of democratic engagement to gauge each party’s practice of those qualities Labor comes out on top, followed by Likud and Meretz.

Infographic from IDI's Party Democracy Index

Infographic from IDI’s Party Democracy Index

I’m sort of new to the parliamentary system. This will be my first time voting in Israel. I’ve tried to approach how to vote from several directions – straight agreement with a party, which party I think is headed by someone who would be a great opposition leader (Bibi was great at this, but Tzipi is not), who would move the Knesset away from the Right since I think Right Wing parties are overly represented in the Knesset… Nothing seems to be working. Maybe rewarding a party for upholding democratic tenets in its party would be good, with hopes that the party would bring that to the Knesset. But that’s a vote a bit too esoteric for anyone to realize that was what I was doing…

