Tags

,

Over at Brainpickings.org they are doing a promo of Eleanor Roosevelt’s book You Learn By Living (the first book I am buying once my kindle gets here)

There are many reasons to admire Mrs. Roosevelt, I certainly have for years.

She’s the one who taught me that “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” One of the most empowering insights I ever came across. and yes, i often fail to implement it, but that doesn’t mean that we should not all strive to internalise it.

Among the suggestions for happiness, is the quote below. Seems fitting for these times:

 

Someone once asked me what I regarded as the three most important requirements for happiness. My answer was: ‘A feeling that you have been honest with yourself and those around you; a feeling that you have done the best you could both in your personal life and in your work; and the ability to love others.’

 

