Tags

, , ,

So, tonight Vera taught me how to EMBED a YouTube video on the blog. Whoah! Technological progress… exciting. Yes, admittedly, I am a bit scared of technology and one of the great joys of this blog is learning new and interesting things. Such as embedding videos.

I want to show off, so I chose to add Nora Ephron’s Commencement Address (Wellesley College, 1996). Ephron passed away in June and left a legacy of witty, clever and inspiring movies, books and essays behind… And her feminism is my kind of feminism…

You can read the full transcript here.

One of the things people always say to you if you get upset is, don’t take it personally, but listen hard to what’s going on and, please, I beg you, take it personally. Understand: every attack on Hillary Clinton for not knowing her place is an attack on you (…) Whatever you choose, however many roads you travel, I hope that you choose not to be a lady. I hope you will find some way to break the rules and make a little trouble out there. And I also hope that you will choose to make some of that trouble on behalf of women. Thank you. Good luck.

…or watch it (look look!! Thanks Vera for explaining words like “code”)

