Tags

Yes, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted, and it’ll be another week or so before I’m posting as prolifically as (a) I’d like, or (b) my amazing cohort. But I wanted to surface long enough on this first day-off I’ve given myself in a month and write up something about this TEDtalk I watched today.

After Madeleine and Pat Mitchell get past the “teehee, ladies in power” bit I’m sort of feeling is being overdone in these sorts of interviews, they get into the meat of the issue. Money quote is at 4:38:

But I have to tell you, I have my youngest granddaughter – when she turned seven last year – said to her mother, my daughter: ‘So what’s the big deal about Grandma Maddie being Secretary of State? Only girls are Secretary of State.’

Let’s hope we get to raise all our daughters in a world in which fighting for decision-making roles seems out-dated.

In typical Albright fashion, she finishes the interview rather aggressively

My motto is: There’s a special place in hell for women who don’t help each other

which I don’t necessarily agree with – why don’t we just try to be decent people to everyone – but I get and appreciate where she’s coming from.

Now, these sorts of figures (Albright, Rice, Clinton) and their attempts to discuss with us their own balance of work and personal life is and will continue to be an ongoing conversation, but I think it’s important to expand it and include the other half of this equation – men.

Though I believe that some of the discussions Sheryl Sandberg have are flawed, she raised a point in a recent talk that, as long as we live in a world in which there isn’t equal maternity and paternity leaves, we can’t really discuss equality. For me, this struck a chord, that there’s sacrifices on both ends of this conversation. The point of “making your partner a real partner” is something that I feel we don’t raise that often, and I’m not sure it’s possible to move forward constructively without it. But that’s a whole discussion for another post. In the meantime, enjoy the States’ feisty first Secretary of State.

